Symphony in One Movement

Full details...
page one of Symphony in One Movement

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is my most recent, generally unsuccessful, attempt to write a "symhony." It is in one movement but in three distinct sections. There is nothing innovative in this muisc. The piece isn't about being "new." There is no need of innovation because, in my opinion, innovation only has utility when it confers an advantage. Thus, the harmonic language is at least 100 years old.

The orchestra is 2 flutes an piccolo all written on the flute line, 2 oboes and english horn all written on the oboe line, 2 clarinets and bass clarinet all written on the clarinet line, 2 bassoons and contra basson all written on the basson line, four french horns, three trumpets, 2 tenor trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani ( 4 drums-chromtaic) percussion (Snare durm and triangle) 1 harp and strings. Because the oboe and the english horn parts are on the same line, the score is in C.

Duration is 27 minutes. If 27 minutes is too long you can go directly to bar 670 so see how it ends, and whether the good guys win.

I do not know how to get Sibelius to open a larger score szie than the one shown in this piece. The orchestra could be larger with an obvious need of a bass drum and crash cymbals in the percussion and wind parts written per line.

Additionally, the flute in many cases seems to default to a sring sound or no sound at all. Pizz usually seems to start the note after the one indicated.

I am sure these and others are defects in the way I handle the program rather than in the program itself. I do not know how to correct these errors.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
27 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Symphony in One Movement

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...