BACH, J.S. - Bist du bei mir - arr. for Soprano and String Quartet by Gerald Manning

J.S. Bach
Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of BACH, J.S. - Bist du bei mir - arr. for Soprano and String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Although Bist du bei mir BWV 508 is listed in Schmieder�s Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis the composition, scholars now believe, was in fact by Gottfried Heinrich Stolzel (16 90-1749) and Bach arranged it in the Clavier-Buchlein for Anna Magdalena�s soprano voice in E flat major. This careful distinction has to be made however while still maintaining the aria�s BWV identity, but the indisputable fact remains whoever composed it, that this work is one of great appeal which captivates the listener on first hearing with it�s beautiful melodic lines which are woven into the equally beautiful lines of an anonymous poet. The poem�s central theme is one of fidelity, which celebrates the joy, and union of sharing life with a likeminded soul, and the realisation that even in the face of death the beloved presence would bring contentment. This arrangement is for Soprano and String Quartet but of course it can be performed with just a string quartet. The poem is published with both German and English texts.

Score ID
J.S. Bach
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for BACH, J.S. - Bist du bei mir - arr. for Soprano and String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reviews of BACH, J.S. - Bist du bei mir - arr. for Soprano and String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...