MOZART-VARIATIONS op47 for orchestra

page one of MOZART-VARIATIONS op47 for orchestra

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The opening passage of the development section in the Finale of the G minor Symphony by Mozart (K.550, 1788) is one of the most striking examples of conscious use of the idea of 12-tone technique which was invented only 135 years later and dominated almost all 20th century. If to omit a few repeated notes, we will receive the row: Bb-D-F-A-Db-C-E-G#-B-Eb-F#, in which only one note is missing: "G" � the keynote of the Symphony. And for that was a special reason to be as far away as possible from the tonal centre of the piece particularly here at this point of the form. This 8-bar passage I took as the first music idea (A) for my cycle of variations and the next two bars as the second idea (B). Both themes and 35 contrast variations outline the contours of a sonata form. Theme A and Variation I together are forming the Main subject. Theme B and Variations II-VII represent the Transition. Variations VIII-XV constitute the Secondary subject-group and Codetta. The Development section includes Variations XVI-XXVIII. And Variations XXIX-XXXV make the Recapitulation and Coda. The music scored for the same Mozartian Orchestra but the Flute changes into Piccolo, Oboe II into Cor anglais, Clarinet II into Bass Clarinet and Bassoon II into Contrabassoon. Every group of Strings is divided into 4. But for the Double Bass part here I provide the unison version and even a Double Bass solo can play it. The piece had repeated performances in Russia, Germany, England and USA. Together with music of W. A. Mozart and Alfred Schnittke this piece was included into the ballet MOZ-ART by Valerie Aris and Beate Rygiert, which was premiered on the 15th of March 1992 at Phorzheimer Stadtteater, Germany.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of MOZART-VARIATIONS op47 for orchestra

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...