The Apocrypha: Concerto for Flute & Orchestra (Movement II) - Passacaglia: The Affirmation

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

I am currently writing a flute concerto using a new method of composing that I have devised called Semanticism. At present, only the second movement is complete, but I hope the rest will follow shortly. I have an outline for the outer movements, the finale of which will be completed next.

The movements will be as follows: 1) Exposition: The Dawn 2) Passacaglia: The Affirmation 3) Rondo: The Prophesy

Composition of �The Prophetic� In January 2006, I began to work on creating a new system for musical composition. After a few trial runs I finished the system at the beginning of March and the concerto marks my first use of the method. I decided to call the method semanticism as it was born out of my interest in cryptography. Semanticism is less strict that Schoenberg�s serial technique but shares its use of tone rows and the potential of motivic manipulation. In contrast to serialism, semanticism can lead more easily to a diatonic or modal sound world. The second movement presented here was composed between 27-29 of March.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Guy Bunce. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Guy Bunce has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.