FRANCK, C. - Panis Angelicus - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Franck, C.
Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of FRANCK, C. - Panis Angelicus - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Belgian-born French Composer Cesar Franck a modest man who had the wonderful gift of extemporization entered the Paris Conservatoire in 1837 where his teachers were Leborne for composition and Zimmermann for Piano. He was just fifteen years old at that time and had his first brush with the then director Cherubini when he disregarded the strict rules at his first piano examination. He gave a startling account of the set pieces but when it came to the sight-reading test the young student without the slightest error or hesitation transposed the entire test-piece a third lower. Cherubini was furious and refused to award the first prize to Franck, however he was obviously impressed as he awarded him a special �Grand Prix d�Honneur.�

Cesar Franck composed the Panis Angelicus (The Bread of the Angel Host) in the 1860s for Organ, Harp and Cello and since then it has been arranged for a wide variety of Choral and Instrumental ensembles. This arrangement is for Soprano and String Quartet and the full text, derived from St. Thomas Aquina's Corpus Christi hymn Sacris Solemniis, is provided in both Latin and English translation.

This series of arrangements for string quartet is aimed at string quartets� that are building a repertoire of incidental popular classics and �easy listening� music for social functions of every kind. In preparation also at the time of writing is a collection of the most popular hymns taken from the English Hymnal for string quartet with optional chamber organ. From time to time I shall add further pieces thus building the availability of music that is well known to the general public. String quartets should contact me if they have any particular requests, but here I must stress that strict copyright restrictions may apply for certain commissions.

Score ID
Franck, C.
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
St. Thomas Aquinas
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of FRANCK, C. - Panis Angelicus - arr. for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...