Brooks-Davies: Idyll for oboe and piano

Full details...
page one of Brooks-Davies: Idyll for oboe and piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

I have given the original date of composition, though I have slightly revised the piece to remove schoolboy embarrassments. I discovered it the other day, and it recalled so vividly my fascination with the lower and middle octave timbres of the oboe - an instrument that I had recently started learning, having been lent a lovely rosewood Loree by my school - that I found myself playing it. I think it has some validity; so here, for what it is worth, it is.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Solo Oboe + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores
BALICOURT, Simon: Sonata no 5 in D for Flute and Continuo , BROOKS-DAVIES, Douglas: A Shropshire Pastoral for oboe d’amore and string orchestra, Haydn: Piano Sonata no 54 in G for Wind Quintet, Christmas Carols from Poland for Wind Quintet, Brooks-Davies: Lullaby for flute and clarsach, Brooks-Davies: Lullaby for alto flute and clarsach, Brooks-Davies: Suite for Flute Choir (picc., 3 fl, alto fl, bass fl), Brooks-Davies: Adagietto for String Orchestra, Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne Worte, Book 4, #20 for clarinet and piano, Brooks-Davies: Night Piece for oboe and piano, Mozart: Symphony no 40 in G minor (K.550) for wind quintet (first movement), Brooks-Davies: Tarantella (No 3 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 1, #6 in G minor for oboe and piano, Brooks-Davies: Allegro moderato (No 2 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Brooks-Davies: Air (No 1 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Brooks-Davies: Rondino poco Latino for solo flute, Schubert: Scherzo in B flat for Wind Quintet, Brooks-Davies: Allegretto grazioso (No 4 of Four Old-Style Miniatures for oboe and piano), Brooks-Davies: Dreaming: An Idyll for Flute and Piano, Brooks-Davies: The Happy Poodle: For Harriet (simple piano solo), Mendelssohn: Lieder ohne worte, Book 2, #9 in E for flute and piano, Czerny: Sonatina in F (1st movement) for wind quintet, Schubert: Moment Musical in F minor (Op. 94, #3) for wind quintet, Brooks-Davies: Flute Fidget for flute and piano, Brooks-Davies: The Lazy Cuckoo: For Harriet (simple piano solo), Kuffner, Josef: Allegretto for clarinet trio, Mozart: Flute Concerto no 1 in G, K. 313 (1st movement) for wind quintet and Brooks-Davies: A Shropshire Pastorale for oboe and string orchestra

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Brooks-Davies: Idyll for oboe and piano

Reviews of Brooks-Davies: Idyll for oboe and piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...