Home > Solo instrument > Galoppe


Adam Darr
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument
Instrumental parts
Not available

To my knowledge, this piece was never printed. I have a copy of the manuscript and this engraving is based on that source. I like this piece, it is happy and carefree. this piece brings to mind the fact that Darr was a well rounded musician. In his youth, as a condition or his music apprenticeship, Darr was required to perform often for city weddings, parties and other public events in his hometown of Schweinfurt. So Darr was not only a well educated musician theoretically, but also a practical musician. For more information on Darr see my DMA research paper "ADAM DARR (1811-1866) THE CAREER AND WORKS OF A GERMAN ROMANTIC GUITARIST AND ZITHERIST."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Joseph R. Costello. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Joseph R. Costello has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.