Home > Duet > Brahms and Liszt

Brahms and Liszt

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Duet (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Two of the great composers of the 19th century realised through a duo-constructionist fusion of sonic, covalent harmonisation. It is a treatise on the human condition, the experiences of a soul, travelling to where it and the music, becomes one with the title. Not bad at £3.99 a bottle, three for a tenner.

An affectionate and fun re-working of Brahms Lullaby, leading onto Hungarian Dances, with a spot for Liszt's La Campanella.

Enjoy! :-)

Revised Oct 2009.

Following a few play throughs with pianist far better trained than myself, problems with some of upper lines were very apparent. Since this is supposed to be a fun piece to play and not require hours of diligent practice, I've altered the problem areas to give the same effect but in an easier way.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Tony Matthews. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Tony Matthews has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.