Maria stabat ad monumentum

Andrea Gabrieli
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

This very lovely motet of Andrea Gabrieli is one of those printed in the Concerti…continenti musica di chiesa, madrigali & altro…libro primo et secondo, 6-8, 10, 12, 16vv, insts of 1587, a publication shared between Andrea and his talented nephew Giovanni. The text is verses 11-13 of St John 20, which is read as the Gospel on the Thursday after Easter, and the piece was probably composed to replace the first two antiphons to the Gospel (a liturgical function which remains unclear) on that day.

It is one of the composer's most successful pieces, combining several 'madrigalian' features within the context of grief which is appropriate to the situation. Its scoring (SAATBaB) is also sombre: I have given the piece here a tone higher than in the original as being more accessible for mixed choirs.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.