PURCELL, H. - Second Anthem of 'Three Funeral Sentences' - arr. for Parish Choir & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Purcell, H.
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Text: from the 'Book of Common Prayer'
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts

Henry Purcell was no stranger to the musical ceremonies and offices of the Church and Court for he was born into them; both his father and grandfather took an active part in the music of the Court and Westminster Abbey being Organists and well-known Composers. When he was only six years old he entered the Chapel Royal as a chorister and remained there until his voice broke, but the King still kept him on the choir-list and he commenced lessons with that fine musician John Blow. He composed some 60 anthems, which show a rich vein of imagination in simple diatonic and chromatic fluctuations.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.