Shattered Dreams

Full details...
page one of Shattered Dreams

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece was written for the University of Hawaii Spring 2006 Young Composers' Symposium.

The idea was a simple melancholy tune set to a repeating i-bVII-VI "Flamenco" chord progression. It came to me one day while I was practicing piano, but soon kept coming back to haunt me. I decided to write this piece based on that material and some "new" ideas my teacher encouraged me to use. I'm proud of the result, only wishing that I had more time to extend the piece.

The program notes from the cover page: "The idea for Shattered Dreams began at a difficult time in my life. I had been living in fantasy for some time now; my life was made up of silly dreams and expectations of my �perfect future.� However, reality hit me hard as I discovered a terrible truth, something which never should have been possible. But it was. And I had to face it. My dream could never be realized now. It was destroyed, turned from something once attainable into something far beyond my reach.

"Now, what once was a dream resides broken within my mind. It still torments me. And it hurts me so much. . ."

Score ID
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Shattered Dreams

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...