Home > Solo instrument > Fenton-Opal Blues (Number 1)

Fenton-Opal Blues (Number 1)

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
7 minutes
Jazz music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the first in a new series of short works for piano, written for, and dedicated to, members of the composer’s family, his friends, and his piano-playing acquaintances.This piece is dedicated to Vic Carnall’s long-standing friends (from their Army days), Chris (pianist and organist) and Tony Truckle.Extensive use has been made of the technique of alphabetically-based notation - thus, the dedicatees’initials, CVT and AIT, have resulted in the notes C-A-F and A-B-F.Performance: molto espressivo and rubato (poco/molto), throughout; also, please adopt a free-and-easy approach to dotted notes, triplets, etc.; finally, in George Gershwin’s own words, written at the head of his "Jasbo Brown Blues" score ("Porgy and Bess"/1935), please play this piece "In Jazz Manner"./

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Vic Carnall. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Vic Carnall has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.