Missa Quel rossignuol (Baccusi)

Ippolito Baccusi
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
22 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

The biography of Ippolito Baccusi remains to be clearly established. He was born in Mantua about 1550 and died in Verona in 1609. He was Director of Music at S. Stefano in Venice. The Missa Quel Rossignuol is the first sacred piece of Baccusi to be published in modern times. It is a parody on a madrigal yet to be identified - though there is a distinct similarity to the opening of the setting by Donato. The mass is given here a fourth lower as required by the cleffing but it may be ordered at other pitches.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.