Magnificat, D 486 for Brass Ensemble and Organ

Franz Schubert
Full details...
page one of Magnificat, D 486 for Brass Ensemble and Organ

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The Magnificat, D 486 is a lesser known work by Franz Schubert. It was composed in 1815 for Soloists, Chorus, Orchestra and Organ. Although the reason for its composition is unknown, the Magnificat was intended for performance at the parish church in the Viennese suburb of Lichtenthal, with which the composer felt closely associated. The work, originally in the key of C Major, is conceived in three movements. This is a rousing, festive, joyous, celebratory work. It can be played with brass quintet and organ but I have added the original orchestral trumpet and timpani parts to the outer movements, which are optional, that will add tremendously to the overall character of the piece. The middle �Andante� section should be played one on a part. You do not need to use the optional parts. I think doubling or tripling all the quintet parts is acceptable in the outer movements, especially if you are playing in a large church with a powerful organ. The more the merrier. Please enjoy!

Score ID
Franz Schubert
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Brass quartet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Magnificat, D 486 for Brass Ensemble and Organ

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...