CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 8 in G Minor (Christmas Concerto) - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Arcangelo Corelli
Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 8 in G Minor (Christmas Concerto) - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details


The 12 Concerti Grossi of Corelli are unique in that they are divided into two unequal groups and both groups contain variations of form. The first group of eight Concerti known as the �Church Concertos� because of the serious nature of their musical content are followed by the four �Concerti da camera�, which clearly delineate the character of the French orchestral Suite in a celebration of the �Dance�. Of the twelve works only two are in the minor mode the remaining ten Corelli sets in the major. The two Concerti in the minor keys are No. 3, C minor, and No. 8, (known as the Christmas Concerto) which is in G minor, and both works were probably composed for the two momentous occurrences in the Church Calendar namely Easter and Christmas. Without access to the original manuscripts, which have been edited by Pepusch, the violinist Joseph Joachim and musicologist Friedrich Chrysander among others, tempi and bowing articulation�s cannot therefore, be regarded as reliable and faithful to the composer�s meanings and intentions; dynamics are editorial suggestions only and Ensembles� should insert their preferences regarding interpretation during rehearsals.

Score ID
Arcangelo Corelli
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
15 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 8 in G Minor (Christmas Concerto) - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reviews of CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 8 in G Minor (Christmas Concerto) - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...