HANDEL, G.F. - Concerto Grosso Op.6, No.1 in G Major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of HANDEL, G.F. - Concerto Grosso Op.6, No.1 in G Major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details



Although considered by many scholars to be the great master of vocal style Handel is also regarded a master of instrumental style in his sonatas, organ concerti, harpsichord suites and of course his concerti grossi. Whereas Corelli who was thirty years older than Handel and Bach and is considered together with Stradelli and Torelli as the originator of this genre of orchestral writing the precise date of Corelli�s concerti grossi has never been discovered, but most of Handel�s works are still left to us in the autographs and we know with some certainty that the twelve concerti grossi, op.6, were composed in London in1740. He scored the works for solo violins and cello the �concertino obbligato� accompanied by string orchestra and oboes with continuo the �ripieno�. Compared with concertos of a later date the solo instruments have understated bravura passages. As Sonata form evolved and developed the Concerto Grosso was gradually replaced by the Concerto of Mozart�s time, but made a return in the neo-classic forms of the 20th Century when Ernest Bloch and Arnold Schonberg both composed Concerti Grossi.

Score ID
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for HANDEL, G.F. - Concerto Grosso Op.6, No.1 in G Major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reviews of HANDEL, G.F. - Concerto Grosso Op.6, No.1 in G Major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...