Home > String quartet > CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 4 in D major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 4 in D major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Arcangelo Corelli
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts


The Concerto Grosso that in Italian literally means grand or large concert is an early style of orchestral writing that evolved in Italy in two distinctive orchestral genre. In the north its form took the basic four-part string writing, which was complemented by the leader of the orchestra as soloist; but in Rome Corelli was developing a form of the Concerto Grosso along with Stradelli and Torelli, which became to be known as the �classic� form, and there is no doubt that Corelli was the originator. This comprised of several soloists called the �concertino� opposed against a full string ensemble the �ripieno�. This form that bears an analogy to the Eighteenth Century Overture and Suite comprised of several movements including Largos, Allegros, and Andantes, with Minuets, Gavottes, and Gigues occasionally interspersed. As Sonata form evolved and developed the Concerto Grosso was gradually replaced by the Concerto of Mozart�s time.

Without access to the original manuscripts, which have been edited by Pepusch, the violinist Joseph Joachim and musicologist Friedrich Chrysander among others, tempi and bowing articulation�s cannot therefore, be regarded as reliable and faithful to the composer�s meanings and intentions; dynamics are editorial suggestions only and Ensembles� should insert their preferences regarding interpretation during rehearsals.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Gerald Manning. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.