COUNTRY GARDENS: The original composer of the melody is not known, but it is believed to be derived from a medieval source, originally, called the Handkerchief Dance, being a traditional English Morris dance, and collected by Musicologist and friend of Ralf Vaughan Williams Cecil J Sharp and published in "Morris Dance Tunes" by Sharp and Herbert C. Macilwaine (Novello & Co., Ltd., London) in 1907 - 1924.

Percy Grainger took an interest in the folk music of England while he was living there in the early 1900�s and quickly developed a deep interest in gathering and preserving its traditional folk music. Percy Grainger wrote his version of Country Gardens in the early 20th Century as a result of the work he performed by collecting folk music throughout the United Kingdom. It was originally set as a piano piece as a birthday present for his mother on July 8, 1918, and dedicated to the memory of his friend Edvard Grieg.

In September 1914 Percy and his mother moved to America just a month after the outbreak of the First World War. Much of the essence of Grainger�s achievement can be traced to these Edwardian years, during which time he collected over 500 examples to form the basis of his British Folk Music Settings including Country Gardens, Molly on the Shore and Shepherd�s Hey!

The writer of original words of the poem set to Country Gardens is unknown and anonymous, but the poem was most likely written to accompany Grainger�s very popular arrangements of this piece. I postulate that the author was probably his wife, the Swedish artist and poet Ella Viola Strom who he married at the Hollywood Bowl in 1928, or his great friend, British monk, Dom Anselm Hughes, then a leading specialist in medieval music. Together they arranged and published nearly a dozen pieces for chorus, band, and chamber orchestra, based on medieval plainsong. However, extensive research has revealed nothing, the origin of the poem remains a mystery to me. But one telling detail is that all the birds mentioned are North American species.

An exhaustive list of Grainger�s work is to be found here:

Further References of interest

Dom Anselm Hughes:

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Dewar-Finch. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Dewar-Finch has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.