String Quartet #1

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
6 minutes
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is my first attempt at writing for a string quartet. I have done some experimenting with strings in an orchestral setting, but never before on their own. I've always been fascinated with the range of articulation, tone and timbre possible with string instruments and have made use of at least some of those possibilities. I feel I should apologize for the blatant imitation of the Phillip Glass' rhythmic, repetitive style in the latter half of this piece. I just love his string writing so much, I couldn't hold back the influence it has had on me. I hope you enjoy this piece. If you have any sort of reaction to it at all, please write a little review. I'd appreciate any feedback. Thank you.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Jonathan Lunneberg. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Jonathan Lunneberg has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.