Christmas Music for String Quartet: Max Reger - Chorale prelude on Jesu, Meine Freude, - arr. by Gerald Manning

Max Reger
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts

MAX REGER (1873-1916) Chorale prelude on Jesu, Meine Freude, Op. 67, No. 21

Although the German composer and organist Max Reger died at the early age of 43 he composed a vast amount of music that encompassed large forms and not just single compositions. At his death he left 200-catalogued works and a large number of original compositions and arrangements. He was a magnificent organist who held the post of organist at Weiden Cathedral from 1886 to 1889, and a composer whose music he revered above all other was Johann Sebastion Bach.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.