Eternal Time

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

Here is another attempt to write for voices. There are parts of this thing that I actually like. Of course, the score is filled with errors ommissions typical of what happens when a non-musician attempts to write music. What I like about this composition is that it generates a little internal heat, and that's worth something.

A few words about the text. The text is anonymous and dates from the last half of the 16th century. It was published in London in 1602,

Eternal Time that wastest without waste That art and art not, that diest and livest still. Most slow of all, and yet of greatest haste. Both ill and good, and neitehr good nor ill. How can I justly praise thee, or depraise? Dark are they nights, but bright and clear they days.

Both free and scarce thou giv'st and tak'st again. They womb that all doth breed, is tomb to all. What so by thee hath life, by thee is slain. From thee do all things rise, by thee they fall. Constant, inconstant, moving, standing still. WAS, IS, SHALL BE. do thee both breed and kill.

I lose thee when I seek to find thee out. The further off, the more I follow thee. The faster hold, the greater cause of doubt WAS, IS, I know, but SHALL, I cannot see. All things by thee are measured; thou by none. All are in thee, thou in thyself alone.

Because of its anonymous origns, one may expect that the text has been through a number of iterations. Therefore, it is not unreasonable to allow certain liberties with specific words to make them easier to sing and more easily understood. It is up to the singer's discretion to change "wastest" to "wasteth," "Livest to "Liveth" etc.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Fredrick Zinos. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Fredrick Zinos has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.