Come To The Opera - Puccini, G.- Tosca - Vissi d'arte - arr, for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Puccini, G.
Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of Come To The Opera - Puccini, G.- Tosca - Vissi d'arte - arr, for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

VISSI d�arte, vissi d�amore from TOSCA.

Opera in three acts with music by Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924), libretto by Liigi Illica (prose text) and Giuseppe Giacosa (verses) based on a play of the same name by Victorien Sardou and first performed on the 14th of January 1900 at the Teatro Costanzi in Rome.

In 1887 the French playwright Victorien Sardou wrote his play �La Tosca� for Sarah Bernhardt but it was not till 1895 after Puccini had finished composing �La Boheme that he seriously thought about the subject of �Tosca for a new opera, but relations between Puccini and Sardou were not conducive to a collaboration as Sardou declared he did not care too much for Puccini�s music. On the other hand Puccini, although interested by the subject matter of Sardou�s play had reservations about the brutality of the plot, and indeed it is far removed in its sensitivities after the intense sadness and pathos of works like �La Boheme� which permeates so much of his music and in a way reflects his own temperament. Although the critics reacted to this hedonistic work, which received mixed reviews, the general public enthused about its theatricality and verve and it is now acknowledged to be one of the undisputed popular favourites in the repertoire of great opera houses.

Floria Tosca (soprano), a famous singer and lover of Mario Cavaradossi (tenor) who is a painter are embroiled in a vicious love triangle with Scarpia (baritone) who is chief of police that ends in tragedy for the three protagonists. Scarpia has Cavaradossi locked up in the prison cells in the dungeons of Castel Sant�Angelo but strikes a bargain with Tosca that Cacaradossi will escape his execution on the morrow if she will yield to him. She is repulsed by the suggestion and after Scarpia has signed the deed of pardon and proceeds to claim his prize she stabs him through the heart and he dies at her feet. She then places two candles at his head and leaves his quarters.

Score ID
Puccini, G.
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Luigi Illica & Giuseppe Giacosa
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Come To The Opera - Puccini, G.- Tosca - Vissi d'arte - arr, for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reviews of Come To The Opera - Puccini, G.- Tosca - Vissi d'arte - arr, for Soprano & String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...