Call in the New

Full details...
page one of Call in the New

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Call in the New was written for Denise and Jonathan Lewin for their wedding anniversary party in September 2006. Denise requested that I write a piece that all the family could play. The piece was completed on the 22nd August 2006.

The piece uses various ciphers (including morse code) which are based on the family name and the names of individual family members.

’Call in the New’ was carefully scored with the performers in mind and as many members of the family play more than one instrument, there are a number of times when players swap instruments.

The piece is scored for:

Oboe (Hannah) Trumpet (Greg) Tuba (Jodie) Drum Kit (Nathan or Jonathan) Percussion [Cow Bell, Claves, Maracas, Congas, Cymbal, Tambourine, Glockenspiel] (Nathan or Jonathan and Hannah) Piano (Denise) Bass Guitar (Greg) Cello (Jodie)

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Large mixed ensemble
Jazz music
Instrumental parts
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Call in the New

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...