Home > String quartet > ombreggiatura in monocolore

ombreggiatura in monocolore

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
20 minutes
Modern classical music
String quartet
Instrumental parts
Not available

Written in 1986 and revised in 2006 'ombreggiatura in monocolore' is closely related to 'Chanson' (also available from the Sibelius website) and is a reworking of the original piano version. The orignal piece was written to be performed during an art exhibition in Sermoneta, Italy. As the exhibition was open 6 hours per day the piece lasted that length of time each day. As visitors walked around the exhibition they heard the piece being played over a speaker system. No single listener heard the piece in its entirety (including the staff who worked shifts) and it was not necessary that they did so. The music was unobtrusive and meant to enhance the visual experience of the exhibition. In the String Quartet version the six sections can be played in any order any number of times. Small variations in tempo, articulation, dynamics, phrasing etc are encouraged. Performance materials are available from the composer at the email address below.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Barnaby Priest. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Barnaby Priest has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.