At Last They Rest

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
21 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

'At Last They Rest' was written for the Dubai Chamber Orchestra and will be performed in early December 2006. The piece consists of two slow movements separated by a short allegro and is played without breaks. The first movement explores a homophonic canvas juxtaposing different sections of the orchestra playing melodic material heard in the first few bars. There is little sense of thematic development and the structure is presented by these contrasting blocks of sound. The second movement (quasi scherzo) uses a three note rising motif as its basic building block and presents a short series of variations which combine one on top of the other. The final movement uses as its base material an eight bar phrase from my violin sonata 'Three Places in France' (to be published subsequently on the Sibelius website). The movement records a trip past the WWI cemeteries of northern France - hence the title.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Barnaby Priest. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Barnaby Priest has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.