The Whirligig of Time (from 'Triptych: Honor Oak Park')

Full details...
page one of The Whirligig of Time (from 'Triptych: Honor Oak Park')

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Originally written for symphonic concert band, adapted and arranged for brass band. 'The Whirligig of Time' is the opening movement of 'Triptych: Honor Oak Park'.

Allegedly, the name of Honor Oak was bestowed upon the area by Queen Elizabeth I, who may have rested and picnicked there in 1602. This piece remembers some of the people and events throughout history that have shaped the landscape of this attractive area of London and made it a unique home for music and musicians in the capital.

The movement opens with a striking four-note fanfare (based on the concept of �honour�), which is passed among various groups, introducing snatches of melody to be developed later. This settles into a bawdy folk dance, such as might have been heard in the old Honor Oak Tavern. A harmonic shift gives the soloists a chance to shine, passing the frenzied melody from Soprano Cornet, down the line right back up to the top again over a bed of relentlessly unsettled quavers. Another intricate dance figure follows - jauntier than the last - in complex time, alluding to a more modern life in London. A fugue begins, based on the two dance themes, bringing past and present together. Another short fanfare heralds the return of some thematic ideas from the opening, building towards the final dramatic flourish.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The Whirligig of Time (from 'Triptych: Honor Oak Park')

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...