The Earl of Salisbury's Pavane

William Byrd
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Percussion ensemble

William Byrd was born in London around 1539 though the precise date is uncertain. He died in 1623. As a young man he may have worked with Thomas Tallis though, again, this remains to be confirmed. However, it is clear that in later life he worked with Tallis at the Chapel Royal where they collaborated extensively and shared duties as organist. They jointly published the �Cantiones Sacrae� dedicated to Elizabeth I. Byrd was a Roman Catholic and remained true to this faith throughout his life. Of his many works, the pavane Earl of Salisbury is a good example of his writing and seems to lend itself well to brass.

This piece is arranged here for 2 cornets, three trombones, euphonium and a tenor drum. The music should be played slowly, with expression througout and due regard to the dynamics.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Hargreaves. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Hargreaves has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.