Home > String orchestra > III. Paradise Lost... Escape from Moth Island

III. Paradise Lost... Escape from Moth Island

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
12 minutes
Modern classical music
String orchestra
Instrumental parts
Not available

A man becomes trapped on a remote, vacant island, there is nothing there but to accept that he is a slave to time and its unforgiving continuation. We move with time. Time does not move with us. He thinks to himself how long will it take before the people of importance in his life forget about his exsistence on this earth…"There is no measure to the occasion that breeds; therefore the sadness is without limit". He discovers this beautiful serene area and by accident finds a band of Moths that have not been seen by Western eyes. In a desperate attempt he tries to leave the island, but is still convinced that there is nothing for him when he returns. In his mind he contemplates that this could be his Paradise Lost that he may never see again.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by James Oliver Biljak. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com James Oliver Biljak has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.