String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor - Movement One

page one of String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor - Movement One

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

String Quartet Number One in C Minor began life as separate short pieces and I assembled it in the form of a String Quartet in June 2006, including two pre-existing pieces - Sonatina , which stems from the late 1970s - early 1980s and Prelude for strings, which started out as Prelude for organ, originally composed in the late 1980s which was intended to be a prelude to a fugue. In June 2006 I was suddenly inspired to write two brand new pieces specifically for a string quartet to accompany the aforementioned pieces, the ebullient first movement in C minor and the restless Allegro in B major forming the book ends of the piece, the first and fourth movements. The whole piece was finished by 2nd August 2006.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
6 minutes
String quartet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor - Movement One

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...