’With trumpets also and shawms: O shew yourselves joyful before the Lord the King.’ This work contains both introvert and extrovert elemements, and is an arresting showpiece that is ideal as a concert item, and also very successful as a voluntary. As the quotation from Psalm 98 suggests, ’Invocation & Paean’ provides a fantastic opportunity to showcase an organ’s reeds – especially a big solo reed such as a Chamade or a Tuba. The chaotic climax on the final page sums up the work: it’s both serious and fun: how you balance those two elements is up to you…

Invocation & Paean was featured in the 2008 Annual Festival of New Organ Music (www.afnom.org). It was performed by the composer (www.afnom.org/2008/Programme_Notes/maxim.htm) in a concert at St John the Evangelist RC Church (www.rcdow.org.uk/islington), Duncan Terrace, Islington, London N1 8AL (www.multimap.com/maps/?zoom=16&countryCode=GB&qs=N1%208AL#map=51.5342,-0.10307|16|4&loc=GB:51.5342:-0.10307:16|N1%208AL|N1%208AL).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Maxim. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Christopher Maxim has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.