Suite to "Stories Gone Wilde"

Year of composition
Oscar Wilde, script by James Zager
Difficult (Grades 7+)
17 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the piano incidental music I wrote for the one-act play, "Stories Gone Wilde", put on for the Sears Ontario Drama Festival.

The play is a collection of short stories by Oscar Wilde, the famous Romantic/Victorian writer, adapted for the stage by James Zager. There are giants, talking rockets, romance, action, drama, and much fancy and flair in the play, and musically I've written very eclectically.

Because the play is fairly short, I did not have to arrange the music into a smaller suite. The entire music lasts for seventeen minutes, and there can be found lounge jazz, bebop, reggae, classical, ragtime, french folktunes, scottish folktunes, some British and American pep, and this is my first theatrical score written solely for the piano, in the tradition of Broadway as well as the Victorian salons and cafes.

Played straight through, the music is generally very light and fun, quirky and spontaneous, and I've tried to compliment the authors through my music. Enjoy.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Benjamin Sajo. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Benjamin Sajo has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.