Sonata for two pianos

Full details...
page one of Sonata for two pianos

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Sonata for two pianos is an eclectic, rytmical piece, full of energy, with strong influence of neoclassicism, jazz and composers such as Stravinsky, Bernstein or Poulenc. It was orginally written for the pianist Dubravka Vukalovic and me to be played as a Conservatory chamber music project. It is crafted in three standard movements - I. Allegro vivo: After short introduction based on chordal interval that will be repeated throughout the work, movement is based on imitations of two themes (first syncopated theme and tuneful second one) with constant motorical flow in sixtheen-notes. II. Adagio molto espressivo: A romance inspired by very personal touch of a moment. A sentimental first part is continued by quasi-improvisando first pianos’ cadenza which ends with abrupt cluster. The romance atmosphere comes again, followed by a sort of rythmical game between pianos in E-minor, ending in ppp. III. Allegro assai: Lively, humorous and fresh movement, very often based on jazz idiom. The main childish-like theme passes through different transformations and finally growing to augmented choral-like Coda in D-major marked "Adagio maestoso".

The work was premiered at the International Summer Academy Mozarteum in Salzburg (Austria) on 1st September 2006.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
13 minutes
Duet of Pianos
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Sonata for two pianos

Reviews of Sonata for two pianos

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...