Home > Choir + keyboard > Behold now, Praise the Lord

Behold now, Praise the Lord

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Classical music
Choir + keyboard
Instrumental parts
Not available

This setting of Psalm 134 (using the translation of the Book of Common Prayer) was joint First Prize Winner in the Royal School of Church Music’s 2002 Harold Smart Composition.

The piece opens mysteriously and quietly. The music gradually builds, reaching a climax at the words ’Lift up your hands in the sanctuary and praise the Lord’. The ’Gloria Patri’ rounds off the work, which ends as softly and atmospherically as it began.

’Behold now, Praise the Lord’ was first performed by the St Teilo Singers in Chichester Cathedral. The piece has also been performed in Germany.

Downloading a copy of this score entitles the purchaser to make up to 30 copies – that’s why the single download price is $20.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Christopher Maxim. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Christopher Maxim has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.