Lontano (a quiet piece for organ)

Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals])
Instrumental parts
Not available

Although this would serve as an easy piece for organists to use during a quiet part of the service, I wrote it for a new organ pupil to have something other than exercises to play in the early stages of learning the use of the pedals and it was successfully played by her as a quiet voluntary just before the service. All the pedal notes are adjacent, well spread out and occur at the beginning of a bar. It also gives an opportunity to learn to use the swell pedal (at the beginning and end) and to change over manuals between solo and accompaniment and/or solo stops ? all these occur at places where not too much is going on making them easier to accomplish and giving confidence. The impression to aim at is of hearing sounds coming as if from a great distance; growing louder and then dying away again.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Charles Dodds. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Charles Dodds has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.