The Huron Carol ('Twas in the moon of wintertime)

Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
World music
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

The Huron Carol (or 'Twas in the Moon of Wintertime") is a carol attributed to Saint Jean de Brebeuf (1593-1649). Jean de Brebeuf is one of eight Canadian Martyrs who were canonized in 1930. He dedicated much of his life to seeking to bring Christianity to the Huron Indians. In this arrangement, I have tried to create an atmosphere of an Indian encampment - hence the constant drum beat. The piece begins quietly, builds to a climax (forte) at Bar 47 and then fades away into the distance. This is rather like some of the old "patrols" which were popular some years ago. The carol is perhaps usually sung to the English words written by J.E. Middleton. I do not have any French words and would be grateful if anyone could supply them.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Hargreaves. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Hargreaves has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.