Sonata No. 2 in D minor for cello and piano, Op. 17 - I. Prélude & Fugue

page one of Sonata No. 2 in D minor for cello and piano, Op. 17 - I. Prélude & Fugue

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The 2nd cello sonata is neo-romantic. The 1st movement is in AB form and consists of a prelude and a fugue. The 2nd movement is also in AB form and consists of an air and a choral. The final movement is fast and in rondo form. reviews on the Composition Contest forum: "A most beautiful and passionate theme. Really moving ! One of the best pieces I heard in the contest for quite some time. Thank you."; Wonderful ! Very nice theme constructed from a dark 4 note motif … The harmonics flow beautifully, with a consistent style. Lovely music. Thank you for creating a superb piece of music …"; "Excellent theme."; "… Congrats."; "This is very good …"; "…Nice use of your thematic material throughout and the fugue was quite nice … Interesting …" Please enjoy the digital performance made in Sibelius 4 with Kontakt Player Gold. Play along on my YouTube-channel.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
Solo Solo Violoncello + piano
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Sonata No. 2 in D minor for cello and piano, Op. 17 - I. Prélude & Fugue

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...