Ariadne Musica (1702) Prelude und Fugue #2, C# minor

J.C.F. Fischer
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Solo instrument (Organ [manuals])
Instrumental parts
Not available

Ariadne Musica by Johann Caspar Ferdinand Fischer is perhaps the most seminal work in the development of classical music. And as all Western music systems are descended from it almost everything from Classical music to Rock, - Jazz to Pop and their �offspring� owe Fischer a debt of recognition. In my reinterpretation of the pieces I have endeavoured to keep the form as close to the originals as the digital medium will allow. For anyone wishing to play this series, these interpretations are fairly close to the originals, so any organist could do worse than to follow my tacit suggestions. It takes time to find each separate prelude and each separate fugue and to work out what sound was intended. My Hammond organ is less than ideal for the purpose, but as I don�t have a church pipe organ it will have to do. As I complete each reinterpretation for midi I will add them to this folder until I have amassed the whole set.

The title refers to the Greek myth in which Theseus is able to find his way out of the Minotaur's labyrinth by using a ball of thread which Ariadne, the daughter of King Minos of Crete, gave him. Similarly, the music in the collection can be said to guide the listener through a labyrinth of keys.

Johann Casper Ferdinand Fischer was not only very popular, but had great influence on the development of the musical life at the beginning of the 18th century. Bach's biographer Johann Nikolaus Forkel stated in 1802: "The most famous composers for piano of that time were Froberger, Fischer, Kerll, Pachelbel, Buxtehude, Bruhns, Bohm etc." And Max Seiffert concluded: "In his time, he was outstanding as one of the most distinguished and capable artists, and one cannot exclude him any longer from the place of honour as a forerunner of the great J. Sebastian Bach. From 1706 onwards Fischer worked at the court of the Margrave of Baden altogether for more than fourty years and became a part of musical history as one of the most important German composers of piano suites. Both Bach and Handel estimated Fischer�s works very much and adopted thematic and compositional-technical impulses from them.

Ariadne musica was written in a time when a new and richer system of temperaments in musical practice was developed. Whereas the former mean-tone temperament with its eight pure major thirds allowed only special keys as "pure" ones, many theorists and practical men around 1700 (like Werckmeister 1691) tried to make a greater number of keys possible through new systems of temperaments. This was made by distributing the pure and unequal ("well-tempered") fifths among the complete volume of tones. So for Fischer's Ariadne musica at least twenty keys can be used; however, not all of them are equally "pure"-tuned, for, with a growing number of accidentals in an unequal temperament, the keys seem to be considerably sharpened.

Bach's biographer, Forkel, had hardly exaggerated by saying that Fischer's Ariadne musica had inspired Bach to write the Wohltemperierte Klavier. In regard to their extent the fugues often correspond exactly to the preludes and take their motivic material from them.

Read a full appraisal here:

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Dewar-Finch. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Dewar-Finch has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.