Gnomenreigen - Dance of the Gnomes - For violin and piano

Franz Liszt
Full details...
page one of Gnomenreigen - Dance of the Gnomes - For violin and piano

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Gnomenreigen - Dance of the Gnomes, from "Deux etudes des concert" by Franz Liszt.

During his stay in Rome in 1862-1863, Liszt composed his "Deux etudes des Concert" (two concert studies). The two extraordinarily difficult studies were entitled Waldesrauschen ("Forest Murmurs") and Gnomenreigen ("Dance of the Gnomes") respectively. The latter, which has been regarded of some of the lightness of the Mendelssohn scherzos, has also a Lisztian devilishness well-suited to its subject. Marked Presto scherzando, the music dances gracefully along its 6/8 meter at first, but soon it too grows to a brilliant climax. The opening dance resumes, and suddenly-like a puff of smoke-it vanishes.

This arranged revision of the dance has been simplified, and to increase playability, the key has been adjusted a bit.

Score ID
Franz Liszt
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Related scores
Tango brejeiro (For violin and piano) and Polka, Op. 123, No. 6

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Gnomenreigen - Dance of the Gnomes - For violin and piano

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...