Caronte's Voyage

Full details...
page one of Caronte's Voyage

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The piece is named after Caronte, the ferryman of the dead from Greek mythology. The souls of the deceased are brought to him by Hermes, and Caronte ferries them across the river Styx. The original version was for string orchestra (beginners to Grade 5). The piece was revised and re orchestrated in May 2004 for Furze Platt Senior School Orchestra. This version retains the form and character of the original but adds colour to the piece through the orchestration.

The piece is in Rondo form with the main theme being dance-like and modal. In the middle of the piece the plainchant Dies Irae (from the Requiem Mass) is heard. This is later added in counterpoint to the main theme.

Please contact me for a free set of parts.

Score ID
Year of composition
Easy (Grades 1-3)
4 minutes
Classical music
Related scores

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Caronte's Voyage

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...