Renaissance Music for Brass: "Pavan Ferrarese and Galliarde" for Brass Quartet

Pierre Phalese
Full details...
page one of Renaissance Music for Brass: "Pavan Ferrarese and Galliarde" for Brass Quartet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Pierre Phalese was, along with Tielman Susato, one of the first music publishers, with a collection of dance tunes published in 1572. Pavanes and Galliardes are often paired as in this and were played consecutively.

The pavan should be played in a very stately manner, and the galliarde is quite lively, with a strong emphasis on the downbeat in each bar. Where there are three quarter notes (chochets) in a row, play the first long and the 2nd and 3rd lightly. In other words, make it dance.

There is a small mistake in the trombone part, in bar 61. The crochet on the third beat should be a "G" instead of "F". Sorry.

Have fun. The dynamic markings are strictly editorial as there are no indications of instrumentation, dynamics or much of anything else in the original.

Score ID
Pierre Phalese
Easy (Grades 1-3)
3 minutes
Brass quartet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Renaissance Music for Brass: "Pavan Ferrarese and Galliarde" for Brass Quartet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...