Sir Edward Elgar
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
Classical music
Concert band / wind band
Instrumental parts
Not available

"Nimrod" by Sir Edward Elgar is Variation IX of his famous Enigma Variations (or, Variations on an Original Theme). Each of the variations is based on a friend of Elgar and the 9th Variation is based on A.J. Jaeger, the music publisher, whose encouragement did much to keep Elgar going when he was struggling to secure his reputation as a great composer. Apart from the Pomp and Circumstance March No. 1 (Land of Hope and Glory) it remains the most widely performed of Elgar's works and Nimrod is arguably the most moving and best loved excerpt in the whole of the classical repertoire.

This arrangement commences with the melody played by the Tenor Horns and the cornets join later. Perfect intonation, balance, "tight" ensemble playing and observation of the dynamics are all crucial to a good performance of this music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Peter Hargreaves. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to Peter Hargreaves has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.