Responsorial Psalm - Ash Wednesday

Year of composition
Latin, 10th Century
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is easier to perform than it may appear. In essence, it's in 4/4, but I used the alternate 3/4 - 5/4 to emphasize the accents. It works especially well on guitar, if you use the suggested guitar voicings.

Also available, "Remember Man, That Thou Art Dust", for Ash Wednesday and Lent.

Don't forget, the entire Liturgical Years A and C are available for purchase. Just e-mail for details, or check some of the other psalms here, which have the prices(which are a significant savings over downloading week to week).

Remember, for the dollar you can make up to 14 extra copies on your own from the original printout. For the price of two printouts ($2) you can make unlimited copies on your own from one of the original prinouts.

God bless you, and have a holy Lent!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Bernardo Hernandez. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Bernardo Hernandez has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.