Home > Orchestra > Auf und ab

Auf und ab

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
10 minutes
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

I wrote this piece for solo-piano and Orchestra for the Queen-Elisabeth-Competition in 2007, but sadly i have not won. So luckily i can publish it now on sibelius-music. The composition contents a basic theme, which is divided in single bars. The formal principle works in the manner of adding after every repetition one bar more of the melody like 1 bar,2 bars,3 bars,4 bars etc. until mostly 10 bars. After building up the melody in the first part ther comes the second part, which changes and modify the melody and its character. The last and third part features the melody again slightly modified build down from 10 to 1 like 10, 9, 8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 bars. The music is influenced by classical composers like Liszt, Wagner but also Debussy and Ives and Ligeti on the other side by modern Rockmusic, Metal, Jazz etc. It would be hard to play for a piano-player and i would be very flattered, if somebody wants to do this.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Dirk Radloff. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Dirk Radloff has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.