A Night at the Ballet - Offenbach, J. - 'Can-Can' from 'Orpheus in The Underworld' - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Jacques Offenbach
Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of A Night at the Ballet - Offenbach, J. - 'Can-Can' from 'Orpheus in The Underworld' - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Jacques Offenbach (b Cologne, 20 June 1819; d Paris, 5 October 1880) Can-Can from �Orpheus in The Underworld�.

Any dance that is intended for the theatre (instead of for the ballroom) can, and is loosely termed a Ballet. The older operas often had Ballets in them, as a change from the acting and singing, so sometimes the music is specially composed, and sometimes it is music that has not been composed for the purpose of the Dance. Jacques Offenbach was a theatrical impresario, and in 1855 he took a tiny theatre just off the Champs-Elysees and renamed it the Theatre des Bouffes-Parisiens, so he could indulge his passion and concentration to theatrical composition. The can-can (also spelt cancan, Can Can) is regarded today primarily as a music hall dance, performed by a chorus line of female dancers who wear costumes with long skirts, petticoats and black stockings, harking back to the fashions of the 1890s. The main features of the dance are the lifting up and manipulation of the skirts, with high kicking and suggestive, provocative body movements.

Score ID
Jacques Offenbach
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
3 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for A Night at the Ballet - Offenbach, J. - 'Can-Can' from 'Orpheus in The Underworld' - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

You might also like...