Gnossiennes No. 1 (variable soloist plus euphonium/trombone quartet)

Erik Satie
Full details...
page one of Gnossiennes No. 1 (variable soloist plus euphonium/trombone quartet)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Scored here for 4 euphoniums (tenor tubas) and a solo instrument, this is a simple arrangement of a simple but haunting piece which was originally composed for piano. The euphonium parts could equally well be played by trombones (two of which would need to be Bb/F instruments for the purpose of lower range). The solo part could be played by a D trumpet, or Eb trumpet or cornet, clarinet, oboe or other instrument with appropriate range. Parts are available for euphs/trombones in Bb treble clef or concert pitch bass clef and the solo part is available in Bb, C, D or Eb. 4 high B naturals probably make the solo part unrealistic for all but the strongest of Bb cornet/trumpet players. The original was scored without barlines but they have been included here to aid reading. Performers should bear in mind, however, that the intention was for the piece to sound devoid of pulse or time.

Score ID
Erik Satie
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
5 minutes
Brass quartet
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Gnossiennes No. 1 (variable soloist plus euphonium/trombone quartet)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...