A Night at the Ballet - Chopin, F. - Les Sylphides - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Frederic Chopin
Gerald Manning
Full details...
page one of A Night at the Ballet - Chopin, F. - Les Sylphides - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Les Sylphides Premiere: June 2, 1909, (Theatre du Chatelet, Paris). Music: Frederic Chopin Choreography: Michael Fokine

Synopsis: The ballet has no plot, that is why there is no scenario credit. It is "romantic reverie." Les Sylphides is composed of a suite of dances in the romantic atmosphere of a moonlit park. The sylphides, (magical figures, like the sylph in La Sylphide), dance with the "poet" in search of the ideal. The dances are in the following order: 1. Prelude: The curtain rises and all dancers are on stage, posed motionless. 2. Nocturne: an ensemble danced by the whole cast. 3. Waltz: a solo variation performed by a soloist. 4. Mazurka: a solo by the prima ballerina. 5. Mazurka: a solo by the lone male dancer in the cast. 6. Prelude: a solo by a different soloist. 7. Waltz pas de deux for the prima ballerina and the poet. 8. Grand Waltz: the final ensemble.

Notes: This ballet, because of its name, is quite often confused with La Sylphide. The two are quite different, in fact. Les Sylphides was originally called Chopiniana, after Chopin, the composer who wrote the music. However, the name was changed for its premiere in Paris, where the audience had recently seen La Sylphide.

Score ID
Frederic Chopin
Year of composition
Gerald Manning
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
String quartet
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for A Night at the Ballet - Chopin, F. - Les Sylphides - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Reviews of A Night at the Ballet - Chopin, F. - Les Sylphides - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...