Le tombeau de Feldman

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
30 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo instrument (Solo Viola)
Instrumental parts
Not available

Bar lines are for coordination and ease of reading, and do not necessarily indicate phrasing. The vocal line in the latter part of the piece is not intended to be realised precisely as notated. It should begin as a shadow of the viola line, which gradually becomes independent. It is not necessary, or desirable, to vocalise all the notated line from bar 614 onwards. The line may be transposed ad libitum to suit the voice. Precise intonation and coordination with the viola line is not required - in fact such qualities are to be avoided. The vocal line should always remain a barely audible, ghostly presence.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Nagle. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Peter Nagle has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.