The Musick of Castle Hill

Full details...
page one of The Musick of Castle Hill

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

A Test Piece I wrote for a lower section band.

'The Music of Castle Hill' is a musical rendition of the history of Castle Hill in Huddersfield

The Piece has 5 sections each of them using and manipulating the key motif to the piece; the theme which starts the whole piece in the basses and euphoniums.

The Beginning of 'the Musick of Castle Hill' depicts the hill, looming over Huddersfield in West Yorkshire (beginning to figure 'B'). This meanders around the motif before leading into the second section (figure 'B' to figure 'F'). The second section is the bustling reniassance market town which Castle Hill was from more or less it's 'birth'. The Music continues to build becoming more and more frenetic before suddenly everything appears to evaporate leaving 3 cornets and a baritone to quietly bring in the next section. The third section (figure 'F' to figure 'I') is the desertion of Castle Hill, which no historians have been able to put an accurate date on. During this period, The town was abandoned and left to deteriorate until the reign of the Victorians. The fourth section (figure 'I' to figure 'P') depicts the Victorians arriving at Castle Hill, though the Castle had disappeared long before, and erecting a monument to Queen Victoria. The Music builds through the Fugato section becoming rapturous at the end. The final section, or epilogue (figure 'P' to the end), is the view from the Hill at night. The Glockenspiel tinkles like the vast sea of lights visible as you look down over Huddersfield.

Please e-mail me for parts

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
8 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The Musick of Castle Hill

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...