Home > Choir > Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis

Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the second of three settings of The Book of Common Prayer Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis. The first was commissioned by the Voluntary Choir of Derby Cathedral. The other two were written for Breadsall Parish Church Choir for their visits to sing evensong in Derby Cathedral. Settings 1 and 3 are SATB but this one is unison for female and male voices as the choir was a bit short of numbers at the time. This score has been updated as a result of advice from a scorchmusic visitor. Problem is balance of voice and instrument on computer - hope this is better!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Les Emmans. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Les Emmans has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.