Descant to 'St Ethelwald' (Soldiers of Christ, arise)

W. H. Monk
Full details...
page one of Descant to 'St Ethelwald' (Soldiers of Christ, arise)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This arrangement was composed for the last verse of the hymn ’Soldiers of Christ, arise’(NEH 449).

This arrangement may be downloaded. If you use it please let me know by email.

Score ID
W. H. Monk
Year of composition
Charles Wesley
Easy (Grades 1-3)
1 minute
Choir + keyboard
Related scores
Descant to 'Woodlands' (Tell out, my soul, the greatness of the Lord), Descant to 'Lux Eoi' (Alleluia, Alleluia, hearts to heaven and voices raise), Descant to 'Fulda' (We have a gospel to proclaim), Descant to 'Ellacombe' (The day of resurrection! Earth, tell it out abroad), Descant to 'Nun danket' (Now thank we all our God), Descant to 'Gwalchmai' (King of glory, King of peace), Sancta Maria Magdalena (Mary, weep not, weep no longer) EASTER HYMN, The Easter Anthems (Anglican Chant), Psalm 149 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 148 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 126 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 147 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 130 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 129 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 128 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 127 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 119 vv97-104 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 118 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 112 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 111 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 106 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 104 vv19-30 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 104 vv1-18 & 31-end (Anglican Chant), Psalm 103 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 091 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 089 Gloria (Anglican Chant), Psalm 089 v50b (Anglican Chant), Psalm 089 vv37-50a (Anglican Chant), Descant to 'St Albinus' (Jesus lives! thy terrors now) (C major), Descant to 'St Clement' (The day thou gavest, Lord, is ended) (G major), Arrangement of 'Neander'/'Unser Herrscher' (Come, ye faithful, raise the anthem), Psalm 089 vv20-36 (Anglican Chant), Newton West Kirby (Stars of the morning, so gloriously bright) NEH 193 (revised and now with a descant/last verse arrangement), Descant to 'Aberystwyth' (Jesu, lover of my soul), Psalm 089 vv1-19 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 081 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 069 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 042 (Anglican Chant), Descant to 'Guiting Power' (Christ triumphant, ever reigning), Psalm 032 (Anglican Chant), Descant to 'Caswall' (Glory be to Jesus), Descant to 'Praise, my soul' (Praise, my soul, the King of heaven), Descant to 'Quem Pastores' (Jesus, good above all other), Psalm 029 (Anglican Chant), Psalm 005 vv1-11 (Anglican Chant), Descant to 'Noel' (It came upon the midnight clear), Psalm 001 (Anglican Chant), Descant to 'Richmond' (City of God, how broad and far / Fill thou my life, O Lord my God), Psalm 024 (Anglican Chant), Woodbury (From Heaven’s bounty, Jesus blest), Acton Park (The Son of God proclaim), Descant to 'Crimond' (The Lord’s my shepherd, I’ll not want), Canon on ’Sandys’ (Teach me, my God and King), Mackintosh (Light of the minds that know him), St Teilo (Lord of beauty, thine the splendour), Three Hymns to Our Lady (3): Mirfield (Hail, O Star that pointest), Three Hymns to Our Lady (2): Glan Ely (Shall we not love thee, Mother dear?) NOW WITH DESCANT, Three Hymns to Our Lady (1): Cathays (O Glorious Maid, exalted far), Descant to 'Westminster Abbey' (Blessed city, heavenly Salem/Christ is made the sure foundation) and Descant to 'Hereford' (O thou who camest from above)

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Descant to 'St Ethelwald' (Soldiers of Christ, arise)

Reviews of Descant to 'St Ethelwald' (Soldiers of Christ, arise)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...